In 1991, when Osun State was carved out of the old Oyo State, there existed the Office of Planning and Budget (OPB) which was responsible for the coordination of Budget for all Ministries, Departments and Agencies and (MDAs) in the State, preparation of annual Budget and Monitoring of its implementation in line with the approval State Development plans and policies.  Over the years, the Budget and Planning functions were separated into two different agencies of Ministry of Finance and Economic Development (MF&ED) and the Central Economic Planning Office (CEPO) respectively.

However, the need for convergence of Budget and Planning led to the creation of Office of Budget & Economic Planning (OBEP) in the last quarter of the Year 2013 by the Administration of Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola.  Further to this, the restructuring exercise carried out in January 2016 which reduced the State’s Ministries to twelve (12) changed the structure of the Office of Budget & Economic Planning to a full-fledge Ministry called the “Ministry of  Economic Planning, Budget and Development”

            The Ministry was established to be a service oriented and specialized outfit, charged with the responsibilities of advising Government on policies coordination of programmee and activities that will fast-track the State development in line with the 6-point Integral Action Plans of the present Government and the State Development Plans (SDP).

The Structure of the Ministry

            The Ministry Consists of the underlisted functioning Departments;

  • Budget Department;
  • Economic Planning Department;
  • Monitoring and Evaluation Department;
  • International Cooperation Department;
  • Administration and Supplies Department;
  • Finance and Account Department;
  • Information Department.

All these Departments are effectively functioning in line with the saddled responsibilities and the Civil Service Rules.